Earth Ears Ensemble: Material Sound and the Mental Body

Event Introduction

The Earth Ears Ensemble performs a program of acoustic and electroacoustic chamber music works that emphasize the physical aspects of sound. These physical, material aspects of sound provide both the performer and listener the opportunity to reimagine what is expected and possible from both body and instrument.

The program includes works by Helena Tulve, Jouni Hirvelä, Rebecca Saunders, Nina Young, Malin Bång and Clara Iannotta featuring bass flute, clarinets, cello, piano, objects and electronics.

Download programme notes (pdf) »

Live Stream:


Livia Schweizer, flute
Lucy Abrams-Husso, clarinet
Iida-Vilhelmiina Sinivalo, cello
Helga Karen, piano
Tuukka Tervo, electronics


Helena Tulve: To Night-Travellers, the Light (2009)
Jouni Hirvelä: Deformations I-II (2015)
Rebecca Saunders: Bite (2016)
Nina Young: Metal Works (2014)
Malin Bång: Hyperoxic (2011)
Clara Iannotta: The people here go mad. They blame the wind. (2013-2014)

In co-operation with:

Sibelius Academy


Event Information

  • Time:

    • Sat 11.3.2023 16:00

    • Duration: 70 min

  • Organiser:

    Earth Ears Ensemble

  • Address:

    Helsinki Music Centre, Organo
    Mannerheimintie 13 A
    00100 Helsinki

  • Accessibility:

    The event is accessible with a wheelchair.

    The event does not have an accessible toilet.

  • Tickets:

    The event is free of charge

You might be interested