Focus on Liza Lim

Image: Martti Anttila

Event Introduction

Zagros Ensemble, which specialises in interpretations of chamber music pieces, performs music by the multiple-award winning Australian composer Liza Lim, directed by Petri Komulainen. The concert will feature her work Garden of Earthly Desire for a large ensemble. The opening number will be Plekto for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano and cello by one of the most important musical influences of the 20th century, the Greek composer/architect/engineer Iannis Xenakis. Matthew Whittal’s Devil’s Gate has been inspired by the composer’s three day hike in Lapland’s incredible scenery.

The concert will be broadcasted on Yle Radio 1 on 8 February at 22:05. Ticketmaster will contact all ticket buyers.

Focus on Liza Lim
Iannis Xenakis: Plekto, (1993), fl, cl, perc, piano, vl, vc
Matthew Whittal (1975-): Devil’s Gate (2014-15) oboe, bassoon and piano
Liza Lim: Garden of Earthly Desire, (1988-89), fl/picc, Ob, Cl, Mand, Elec Guitar, Harp, Perc, VL, vla, vc, D Bass.

Zagros Ensemble
Director: Petri Komulainen

Sponsors and partners: The Finnish Cultural Foundation SKR

Zagros Ensemble

Event Information

  • Time:

    • Mon 8.2.2021 22:05

  • Organiser:

    Zagros Ensemble

  • Tickets:

    The event is free of charge