Zagros Ensemble: 30th anniversary concert

Image: Jan Lehtola

Event Introduction

Zagros Ensemble celebrates its 30th anniversary by providing a rich concert experience that showcases the latest music from all over the world.

The concert begins with Austrian composer Olga Neuwirth’s energetic Naufraghi del mondo che hanno ancorcinque isole della fatica from 2021. Veli Kujala will be the soloist for the commissioned work Nodes and Arcs for the quarter-tone accordion and instrumental band by the Iranian composer Arshia Samsaminia. Jaime Belmonte Caparrós’ mysterious and intriguing Svarta rosor from 2015 is a work premiered by Zagros for the alto flute, bassoon and bass clarinet. Mexican composer Hilda ParedesSeed of time (2003) is a compact work for the French horn and strings. Timo Andres is an American composer on the rise, whose Checkered shade (2015) ends the concert with minimalist turns and an open question.

Download programme notes »

Zagros Ensemble
Veli Kujala, quarter-tone accordion
Petri Komulainen, director


Olga Neuwirth (1968-): coronAtion II: Naufraghi del mondo che hanno ancorcinque isole della fatica (2021)
Arshia Samsaminia (1989-): Nodes and Arcs 
Jaime Belmonte Caparrós (1988-): Svarta rosor
Hilda Paredes (1957-): Seed of time (2003)
Timo Andres (1985-): Checkered shade (2015)

Supported by:

The Finnish Cultural Foundation, The Arts Promotion Centre Finland (Taike)


Event Information

  • Time:

    • Sun 12.3.2023 15:00

  • Organiser:

    Zagros Ensemble

  • Address:

    Olaus Petri Church
    Minervankatu 6
    00100 Helsinki

  • Accessibility:

    The event is accessible with a wheelchair.

    The event does not have an accessible toilet.

  • Tickets:

    20 / 12,50 € (Ticketmaster)

    Get tickets

You might be interested